D800 – How much can you crop?

D800_24_120_front.low

People often talk about megapixels and the croppability of different sensors. Let me demonstrate with one of my images.

White Lion in Switzerland

That’s a beautiful portrait isn’t it?  Go ahead, click here and pixel peep. I won a contest with it. 

But this post isn’t about me, it’s about the D800.  If you’re like me, you enjoy your images mostly on the screen, share some of them online, print small sometimes and print large rarely.

As you see this image, it’s a bit over 2 megapixels.

This image was taken through a fence, an ugly white one, from behind another fence and I’ve made contact with a hungry alpha-male lion, so you “zoom with your feet” people please bite me.  I took it with the longest lens I own, a 300mm f2.8, which is an excellent lens, and I was being pretty careful with my shutter speed, so the shot is sharp.  I didn’t adjust much, just play with saturation and colors – because he is a white lion, not golden, although the original shot looks that way.  I also threw down a few gradients to try to mask the bars which are still visible to the trained eye at the top and bottom of this crop.

What’s the point of all this, you ask?

Step back, I’m going to reveal the man behind the curtain.

This monstrosity of thirty-six throbbing un-cropped megapixels of nasty is the same image you see above.

White Lion Orig. Crop

I knew when I took this shot that I was going to need to crop a lot. So now you know the answer to the question; the very question I was asking myself when I pressed the shutter: “how much can I crop on the D800” – lots.

Lots and lots.

3 thoughts on “D800 – How much can you crop?”

  1. Hi Tim do you have an email address I could use? I would like to ask you a question about this image. Thanks Gordon

Leave a Reply

